List of Governors of Assam since 1937

Sl.Name FromTo
1.Sir Robert Niel Reid.4th March, 193724th June, 1938
2.Sir Gilbert Pitchin Hogg25th June, 193824th October, 1938
3.Sir Robert Niel Reid.25th October, 193824th February, 1939
4.Sir Henry Joseph Twynam24th February, 19394th October, 1939
5.Sir Robert Niel Reid.5th October, 19393rd May, 1942
6.Sir Andrew Gourlay Clow4th May, 194224th April, 1946
7.Sir Frederick Chalmers Bourne25th April, 19463rd September, 1946
8.Sir Henry Foley Knight4th September, 194623rd December, 1946
9.Sir Andrew Gourlay Clow24th December, 19463rd May, 1947
10.Sir Akbar Hydari4th May, 194728th December, 1948
11.Ronald Francis Lodge30th December, 194815th February, 1949
12.Shri Sri Prakasa16th February, 194926th May, 1949
13.Shri Jairam Das Daulatram27th May, 194914th May, 1956
14.Shri Saiyid Fazal Ali15th May, 195622nd August 1959
15.Shri Chandreswar Prasad Singha23rd August, 195913th October, 1959
16.General Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh14th October, 195912th November, 1960
17.Shri Vishnu Sahay12th November, 196012th February, 1961
18.General Satyavant Mallannah Shrinagesh13th February, 19617th September, 1962
19.Shri Vishnu Sahay7th September, 196216th April, 1968
20.Shri B.K. Nehru17th April, 19687th December, 1970
21.Shri Justice P.K. Goswami8th Deccember, 19704th January, 1971
22.Shri B.K. Nehru5th January, 197118th September, 1973
23.Shri L.P. Singh19th September, 197311th August, 1981
24.Shri Prakash Mehrotra12th August,198128th March, 1984
25.Shri Justice T.S. Misra29th March, 198415th April, 1984.
26.Shri Bhisma Narayan Singh16th April, 198411th May, 1989
27.Shri Harideo Joshi12th May, 198926th July, 1989
28.Shri Justice Anisetti Roghuvir27th July, 19891st May, 1990
29.Shri Devi Das Thakur2nd May, 199016th March, 1991
30.Shri Lok Nath Misra17th March, 199131st August, 1997
31.Lt.Gen.(Retd.) S.K. Sinha1st September, 19974th June, 2003
32.Lt. Gen.(Retd.) Ajai Singh5th June, 20033rd July, 2008
33.Shri Shiv Charan Mathur4th July, 200825th June, 2009
34.Shri K. Sankaranarayanan26th June, 200926th July, 2009
35.Shri Syed Sibtey Razi27th July, 200910th December, 2009
36.Shri Janaki Ballav Patnaik11th December, 200911th December, 2014
37.Shri Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya12th December, 201422nd August, 2016
38.Shri Banwarilal Purohit22nd August, 201610 October 2017
39.Shri Jagdish Mukhi10 October 2017 Present

Leave a Comment